Hit and Run in Sacramento: Now What?
Involved in a hit and run in Sacramento? We are here for you. Here are the most common questions we receive:
Hit and Run Accidents
California law requires anyone involved in an automobile accident to stop and exchange driver’s license and insurance information, regardless of who caused the accident. If someone is injured in the accident, the other driver is obligated to provide assistance until medical help arrives. If you witness a driver fail to fulfill these requirements, the driver may be guilty of hit-and-run driving, and you should immediately report it to the police.If you aren’t personally involved in the accident, you can still be of tremendous help. Witnesses are vitally important in hit-and-run accidents, and you may have details of the crime that will help catch the culprit. To help encourage citizens to report hit-and-run accidents, Demas Law Group, P.C., participates in the Hit-and-Run Reward Program sponsored by California attorneys. This program provides a reward of up to $1000 to anyone who provides information that leads to the arrest of a hit-and-run driver. You’ll find a link to the Hit-and-Run Reward Program in the Resources section below.
First of all, if you were injured in the accident, seek medical treatment immediately, even if you believe the injury is minor. Although it may be difficult depending on the circumstances, try to get the car’s license number and a description of the car and the driver. Witnesses are crucial in this regard, so write down the name and contact information of anyone who witnessed the accident. If the police didn’t come to the accident scene, report the accident within 24 hours. You should also contact your insurance company as soon as possible. Don’t attempt to fix any damage to your vehicle or property until it has been seen by an investigator.
My insurance company is offering a settlement under my uninsured motorist coverage. Do I still need an attorney?
If the insurance company for your uninsured motorist policy is offering a settlement, you still need an attorney. While the representative from your insurance company may seem to be looking out for your best interest, in reality, the only thing that counts is the insurance company’s bottom line. They don’t want you to get the best care and compensation available – they want you to go away. The skilled personal injury attorneys at Demas Law Group, P.C., are familiar with all aspects of California hit-and-run claims and know how to pursue the maximum recovery for your hit-and-run automobile accident claim.
I was injured by a hit-and-run driver and don’t have uninsured motorist coverage. Can I still be compensated for my damages?
Unfortunately, the answer may be no, unless you can find the driver and they have insurance coverage, either through a personal policy or, if they were driving for a company, the employer’s policy. Demas Law Group, P.C., advises all motorists to purchase uninsured motorist coverage to ensure you’ll receive compensation in a hit-and-run or uninsured motorist accident.
At Demas Law Group, P.C., our attorneys are hired on a contingency fee, meaning you will not pay any legal costs until there is a settlement or a winning verdict at trial. Typically, after your settlement or verdict, your attorney will receive a percentage fee of the total case recovery, in addition to case costs. If there is no settlement or winning verdict, you won’t be charged any legal costs.
This literature may be considered attorney advertising or an offer of professional services, according to rule 1-400 Rules of Professional Conduct by the State Bar of California. The information does not constitute a guarantee, warranty or prediction regarding the outcome of your potential legal matter.
For more information about this topic: