California law provides that every motorist must have liability insurance to cover damage the driver may cause in an accident. This damage includes both physical injury and property damage. California requires everyone behind the wheel to have at least $15,000 in liability coverage for physical injury to a single person and $30,000 per accident as well as $5,000 in property damage liability.
Theoretically, the person who causes a motorcycle accident should be able to cover a minimum of $5,000 worth of damage to the motorcycle with liability insurance.
Unfortunately, reality in this case is far different from the ideal. The law requires everyone to carry minimum coverage, and most people should carry more. However, many people find that they are hit by someone who has no insurance or whose insurance is insufficient to pay total costs and damages. California has one of the highest uninsured populations in the country and a large transient population. This means that in California your chances of being hit by someone who cannot pay for the insurance to cover your damages is relatively high. It also means that your chances of being hit by a hit-and-run driver are higher than the national average, as someone who is driving without a license or insurance is more likely to flee the scene of an accident.
Posted in: Motorcycle Accidents